Posted by: Patrick Allen Foster | December 12, 2014

Two Years

Brooklyn Museum - The Voice in the Desert (La voix dans le désert) - James Tissot - overall

Today marks two years since we started this blog.

I don’t post as often as I would like, but on the whole it has been a positive experience.

Since I started blogging here, I post fewer items on Facebook. My friends and relatives are probably grateful that I no longer clutter their newsfeeds with quite as much esoterica.

What have I learned? Lots, I’m certain. One item: some of my most viewed (and most popular) posts are those that are largely link collections and quotes of other people’s writing. As for posts that are principally my own writing, on the other hand – well…

Also, I get much more interest in, and feedback on, posts dealing with science fiction or Game of Thrones compared to posts dealing with Supreme Court precedents or strategies for appellate arguments. I know: huge surprise.

Have a good weekend, y’all.

Image Credit: James Tissot, The Voice in the Desert, circa 1890. Watercolor over graphite on gray wove paper. Source: Brooklyn Museum via Wikimedia Commons.

Responses

  1. I started blogging in May ’08 and have had mixed feelings about it. This past year I put up the fewest posts of any year since I began. Next yr there will prob be even fewer. I no longer have the inclination to post all the time, partly i suppose b.c I spend too much time commenting elsewhere, esp CT, where I know more people read the comment threads than are ever likely to read anything on my blog.

    The art blogging here is a nice break from the stream of words elsewhere, and I appreciate some of the political and other posts. So although I don’t care about Game of Thrones (or sf in general that much), I wish you the best as the blog continues.

    • Thanks, LFC. I enjoy the book reviews and some other posts at your blog. As for the number of posts, sometimes less is more, especially if the posts you are publishing are higher quality. I may try a similar approach myself in 2015 (fewer and better posts).

      There’s a lot to be said for commenting at the bigger blogs. I used to enjoy commenting at Volokh, but the comment sections there were seriously damaged in quality by the move to the WaPo. I don’t comment at CT or LGM as much as I once did; probably more to do w/ me than w/ the comment sections there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

