Posted by: Patrick Allen Foster | November 22, 2013

Frivolous Friday Linkage

Untitled

1. Santas with real beards only, please. (H/T: Marginal Revolution.)

2. Better late than never, I suppose: Church of England apologizes to Darwin.

3. Costco apologizes for labeling Bibles as fiction. (H/T: Chris Blattman.)

4. Slate displays and links to a photo from Bill Chater showing the Gravity Field and Steady-State Ocean Circulation Explorer (GOCE) satellite burning up on reentry into Earth’s atmosphere, somewhere off the coast of the Falkland Islands, two weeks ago.

5. Also in Slate: a collection of the timeline errors in Back to the Future.

6. A list: “10 Movies We Once Loved — Until We Realized They Were Bad”: Crash, Avatar, The Notebook, and Garden State all make this list.

I think that Boondock Saints hit me when I was just the right age for its message and packaging, and so I feel a nostalgic urge to defend Boondock Saints, but I suppose the movie can stand up well enough (or not) on its own legs.

7. All couples are this flexible, right?

8. Defense attorney Paul Andrew Justice of Franklin, Tennessee may be a Guardian of the Realm, but former Congressman Allen West is Guardian of the Republic. (I don’t think Mr. West is claiming to be a Jedi Knight, but in fairness I have not read the book.)

9. If you haven’t seen this video yet, prepare for a treat: Three Girls, Rube Goldberg, and the Beastie Boys.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

On an unrelated note: here’s hoping Tennessee beats Vanderbilt this weekend. Go Vols!

Image Credit: Ann Althouse. Used under a CC BY-NC 2.0 license. Thanks!

Update (Tues., Dec. 3, 2013, 6:30 PM): The Goldiblox video of the girls with their Rube Goldberg setup has been taken down due to a copyright dispute with the Beastie Boys. For details, see Ken White, Scott Greenfield, Mike Masnick at Techdirt, and Mathew Ingram.

Responses

  1. “Avatar” was always shit. No excuse for having ever liked it.

    “Inception” … I must be the only person who *cried* at “Inception.” Both times I saw it. Then again on video. I thought it was really tragic and affecting, and I am not one to hunt down plot holes while watching/reading (so if I catch them, they are BAD). So I liked it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

