Posted by: Patrick Allen Foster | October 16, 2013

Ender’s Game

Please don’t suck, please don’t suck, please don’t suck.


~~

Ender’s Game is an awesome novel. At this point, I am really hoping that the director and producers haven’t screwed up the adaption.

My nightmare is that they would do to Ender’s Game what Paul Verhoeven did to Heinlein’s Starship Troopers. Fortunately, the trailer gives me some hope that this is not the case.

Meanwhile, Andrew DeYoung has a post (“Orson Scott Card’s life is at odds with his art”) on the mechanics of separating Orson Scott Card’s political views (with which I disagree rather strongly on several points) from the content of his novels.

FWIW, despite my disagreements with Card, I don’t think a boycott of the movie is warranted, or likely to be especially effective.

Responses

  1. As I suggested at my place, I suspect the plot twist is going to be easier to pull off on the page than on the screen.

    • Oh, I suspect you are correct on that point, but that aspect doesn’t really worry me. (And, honestly, the “twist” wasn’t completely unexpected or perfectly disguised in the book.) I will be reasonably happy if they don’t butcher the characters or eviscerate the source material’s themes on small unit leadership, the psychology of command, politics and the like. (Again, see Starship Troopers for an example of how to do it the wrong way.)

    • At least they didn’t ask M. Night Shyamalan to direct.

    • “It was ALL a video game!”


Leave a Reply

Categories

