Posted by: Paul A. Forsyth | March 8, 2013

What I’ve Been Reading

1. Alistair Horne, The Fall of Paris. This narrative history effectively has two parts: part one covering the Franco-Prussian War of 1870-71, including the Prussian siege of Paris (which lasted four and half months), and part two covering the Paris Commune of 1871. I think that I will write a longer review later. For now, I will say that, after reading this book, I cannot look at a map of Paris without thinking about the course of the fighting in various streets and the different arrondissements. (Amazon, Powell’s)

2. Jerry Brito, ed., Copyright Unbalanced: From Incentive to Excess. (Amazon)

3. Max Brooks, World War Z. This one had been on my “to read” list for a while , but I was finally pushed to read it when I saw that the movie adaptation is coming out this summer. (Like Prof. Drezner, I am a little uneasy about what we’ve seen so far of the movie–but in any case, it was going to be effectively impossible to recreate in a two-hour movie the novel’s documentary-like style of short, decentralized narratives, each giving a brief window onto a small part of a world-wide crisis.) (Amazon, Powell’s)

4. Daniel Drezner, Theories of International Politics and Zombies. This one nicely compliments #3 above, although they are very different books. (Amazon, Powell’s)

5. George R.R. Martin, A Dance with Dragons. Recently finished this one. Now I get to wait, with everyone else, for the next book in the series. (Amazon, Powell’s)

Leave a Reply

Categories

